National Championship Preview

National Championship Preview

Sam Yonker
eSomethin Staff

The college football national championship is here with two undefeated teams. 14-0 Louisiana State, led by coach Ed Orgeron and Heisman-winning quarterback Joe Burrow. Clemson, who also has a record of 14-0 this year, led by coach Dabo Swinney and sophomore quarterback Trevor Lawrence, are the defending title team.

Ed Orgeron has really hyped Louisiana State up recently, according to center Lloyd Cushenberry III: “Coach O comes in to try to get us fired up. He’s carrying two Red Bulls,” Cushenberry said.

“He rips his shirt off and shotguns both Red Bulls. Everybody was fired up after that.” Could Orgeron’s action hype them up enough to take the trophy home?

Clemson has previously won three national championships, including last year’s win over Alabama. LSU has won 3 national championships, including one against Clemson in 1958. LSU won that game 7-0.

LSU is coming off a 63-28 win against #4 Oklahoma, with Burrow throwing for 493 yards and 7 touchdowns. Receiver Justin Jefferson catching 227 (46%) of the 493 yards and 4 touchdowns. LSU is a 5 point favorite in the national championship.

Clemson enters the championship after a 29-23 win against #2 OSU, with Lawrence passing for 259 yards and two touchdowns. Lawrence also led in rushing with 107 yards and 1 touchdown. As a sophomore, Lawrence has never lost a game at Clemson.

More on eSomethin:

Share this Post